Drought Expertise

Drought Expertise

The University of Nevada Cooperative Extension (UNCE) is the outreach unit of the University that provides the public with information and research to help address critical issues. The mission of UNCE is "to discover, develop, disseminate, preserve and use knowledge to strengthen the social, economic and environmental well-being of people." To learn more about the University of Nevada Cooperative Extension, visit their website.

Name Title Email Phone Area of Expertise
Bishop, Carol Northeast Clark County Extension Educator bishopc@unce.unr.edu 702-397-2604 Economics of low-water-use alternative crops, edible landscapes
Cervantes, Juan Carlos White Pine County Extension Educator cervantesj@unce.unr.edu 775-293-6599 Forestry
Cobourn, John Water Resources Specialist cobournj@unce.unr.edu 775-336-0244 Watershed management, Predicted climate change impacts, Water-efficient turf irrigation
Emm, Staci Mineral County Extension Educator emms@unce.unr.edu 775-945-3444 Agricultural water use and profitability, USDA & FSA crop and livestock insurance and risk management, business development, American Indian land tenure and water rights
Foster, Steve Pershing County Extension Educator fosters@unce.unr.edu 775-273-2923 Developing ranch drought management plans
Gatzke, Holly Lincoln County Extension Educator gatzkeh@unce.unr.edu 775-726-3109 Community development and local food industry
Hanson-Mazet, Wendy Horticulture and Master Gardener Program Coordinator hansonw@unce.unr.edu 775-784-4848 Low-water-use plants, certified arborist, plant care for drought, water-efficient landscaping, diagnosing plant stress problems
Harris, Tom Dir. of the Center of Economic Devt., State Specialist harris@unr.edu 775-784-1681 Regional economic, employment and household income impacts of drought
Kratsch, Heidi Horticulture Specialist kratschh@unce.unr.edu 775-784-4848 Urban landscape water conservation, low-water-use native and adapted plants, water-efficient irrigation, lawn and tree care during drought
McCuin, Gary Eureka County Extension Educator mccuing@unce.unr.edu 775-385-5248 Natural resources and agriculture
O'Callaghan, Angela Social Horticulture Specialist ocallaghana@unce.unr.edu 702-257-5581 Water conservation, soil amendments, plant selection, mulch selection, recognizing environmental damage on plants
Ormerod, Kerri Jean Asst. Professor, Water Resources and Drought Hazards Specialist kormerod@unr.edu 775-784-6347 Drought impact reporting, public perceptions of risks and hazards, western water law and policy, water governance, urban water recycling
Robinson, ML Horticulture Specialist, Assoc. Professor robinsonm@unce.unr.edu 702-257-5529 Desert bio-scaping, water harvesting and water cycle, drought-tolerant plants for urban and desert landscapes
Roice-Gomes, Jamie Living With Fire Outreach Coordinator roicej@unce.unr.edu 775-336-0261 Wildfire stakeholder and community engagement
Schultz, Brad Humboldt County Extension Educator schultzb@unce.unr.edu 775-623-6304 How drought affects ranchers; how best to downsize herds, what to do with infrastructure to prepare for future drought, availability of water for animals, how drought affects plants and how long herds can graze
Singletary, Loretta Professor, Interdisciplinary Outreach Liasison singletaryl@unce.unr.edu 775-771-4452 Climate-resilient communities, American Indian land tenure and water resource issues
Swanson, Sherm Riparian Specialist sswanson@cabnr.unr.edu 775-784-4057 Assessing and coping with fire danger, challenges in meeting water quality standards, fire and fire potential, managing herd size, managing pastures, grazing for fuels management
Taylor, Mike Asst. Professor, Agricultural & Resource Economics Specialist taylor@unr.edu 775-784-1679 Wildland fire, invasive species management, water management and regional economic development

Seeking additional drought expertise?