skip to main content

Raising Your Relative's Kids


Kid sitting in car seat.

Taxi Assistance Program (TAP)

The Taxi Assistance Program, formerly Senior Ride, provides discounted taxicab fares to Clark County seniors 60 and older and persons with disabilities through coupon booklets that are accepted by all taxicab companies in Clark County. In 2013, you can purchase $20 coupon books for $10. Each person can purchase up to five coupon books each month. That's $100 worth of cab fare for $50.

Initial registration requires a personal appearance at the Nevada Division of Aging Services between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday. A State of Nevada issued picture ID is required in order to verify age and residency, as well as an IRS Form 4506-T Request for Transcript of Tax Return to verify income. Those with a permanent disability who are under the age of 60 must also bring a letter from the Social Security Administration or their doctor stating such to prove eligibility. A two-person household must make less than $62,040 to be eligible.

Purchases can be made at the time of registration; subsequent purchases can be made through the mail.

Taxi Assistance Program
Division for Aging Services
1860 E. Sahara Ave.
Las Vegas, NV 89104
(702) 486-3581

Public Transportation

Operated by the Regional Transportation Commission (RTC), the CAT bus provides valley-wide bus service. Find schedules and routes. The website has a feature that allows you to enter your start and end destinations to receive a route. The RTC also has a mobile phone app that tells you when the bus is coming and where the nearest bus stop is. Discounted fares are available to youth ages 6 to 17, seniors 62 and over and persons with disabilities. You must first apply for a Reduced Fare ID card at either:

  • Downtown Transportation Center
    600 S. Grand Central Parkway
    Las Vegas, NV 89106
    (702) 228-7433
  • South Strip Transfer Terminal
    6675 Gillespie St.
    Las Vegas, NV 89123

The customer service booth is open 8 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. Verification of identify and age is required (driver's license, birth certificate or Medicare card).

CAT Bus Passes

The Family Resource Centers (FRC) can often assist with free bus passes for use on the CAT bus but call first to check.

Car Seats

You may now have responsibility for children who are still in car seats. Nevada law says all children younger than 6 or less than 60 pounds must be buckled in a child restraint system—either a car seat or booster seat, depending on the child's age. Car seats should always be installed in the back seat because of the danger of air bags that protect front-seat passengers. Here's what the experts advise:

  • Babies 1 year and under ride in a rear-facing seat (longer if they still fit).
  • Children up to 3 years old ride in a car seat facing forward.
  • Children 4-7 ride in a booster seat.
  • Children 8-12 continue to ride in the back seat with a seat belt on.

Properly Installing a Car Seat

Installing a car seat can be tricky. You can get help from several places:

Getting a Car Seat

The Department of Motor Vehicles has a website with tips on what to look for if you are buying a car seat. It also recommends several websites where you can buy a car seat.

If you cannot afford a car seat, here are some places that might be able to help you:

  • St. Rose WomensCare Centers of Excellence
    2651 Paseo Verde Parkway, Suite 180
    Henderson, NV 89074
    (702) 492-8000

    7220 S. Cimarron Road, Suite 195
    Las Vegas, NV 89113
    (702) 616-4901
  • Peggy's Attic
    If you are working through the county Department of Family Services to be licensed as a foster family, you may be able to get a car seat through Peggy's Attic, which provides donated items for families such as yours. Ask your caseworker.